top of page

Koan Quartet is a Los Angeles based new music quartet specializing in works by  20th and 21st composers such as Alvin Curran, Carolyn Chen, Ruth Crawford-Seeger, James Tenney and, most recently, Johanna Beyer. The ensemble works to present thoughtful and meticulously-researched performances of rarely heard compositions from the contemporary and experimental repertoire. 


Koan Quartet is Eric KM Clark and Orin Hildestad, violins; Cassia Streb, viola; and Jennifer Bewerse; cello.

Southland Ensemble: Carolyn Chen's "Other Forests" performed by the KOAN Quartet
André Cormier: Derniers Chrysanthèmes
André Cormier: Nuages Flottants
André Cormier: Le Grondement de la Montagne
KOAN Quartet & Katie Porter perform JÜRG FREY: QUINTET (1998)
KOAN Quartet & Katie Porter perform MORTON FELDMAN: Clarinet and String Quartet (1983)
Southland Ensemble: Ruth Crawford's String Quartet (1931) performed by the Koan Quartet
Southland Ensemble performs Other forests by Carolyn Chen
Koan Quartet Members
Southland Earle Brown web-1773.jpg
Southland Earle Brown web-1668 copy.jpg
bottom of page